My Helmet Baby (Squared)

Our family's journey with plagiocephaly

STARlight, Star Bright…

on February 28, 2012

Today, I took Emily to get re-scanned so that her helmet can be made.  She stayed still for the whopping 1.5 seconds of the scan, although she cried the whole time!  The orthotist that met with us, Amanda, actually has experience using the STARlight helmet, which looks like this.  She recommended this type of helmet over a STARband because it is easier to clean and is less smelly, and she said that there was no evidence to suggest that one works better than the other.  She said that parents who have had both really like the STARlight.  (Apparently we aren’t the only family in the world who has had 2 kids in helmets.)  Soooooooo, we decided to go that route.  I’m not sure how I would have felt if Emily’s head had been more asymmetric than it is, but I figured that since it was mild-moderate, it was worth a shot, especially since she’ll be in her helmet over the summer.

The most exciting part of our visit though was finding out that Emily’s head asymmetry has gotten even better.  Her last scan on 2/14 revealed that her asymmetry was 7mm, but this scan showed only a difference of 5.4mm!  I asked if there was a possibility that she would wear it for a shorter time period, and Amanda said that it would depend on how much correction we got (obviously), if she was meeting her milestones, and if her torticollis was completely corrected.  Thus, the physical therapy and exercises were going to be very important to this process if Emily is going to get out of her helmet sooner than expected.  I don’t want to get my hopes up, but it is great news nonetheless.

Emily will be getting her helmet on March 14… so stay tuned!

5 responses to “STARlight, Star Bright…

  1. Janet Lovell says:

    Good for Emily! Thanks for the information! My granddaughter is going in today to be measured for her helmet…this is all so new for my daughter and I!

  2. Bridget says:

    I just found your blog and my daughter Emily was scanned for her helmet today- our othotist was named Amanda too! I wonder if we live in the same area!

    • myhelmetbabysquared says:

      I just looked at YOUR blog and I believe that yes, we are indeed in the same area! I really like Amanda and we are very happy with our clear helmet and the results it is producing. I will be updating my blog again soon!

      • Bridget says:

        What a small world! I just moved here from Illinois and Emily is alomost 6 months old. She gets her helmet next Monday- wish me luck!

  3. Meredith says:

    Let me know how you plan to bling this one! My daughter just got the same model on Thursday 🙂

Leave a Reply

