My Helmet Baby (Squared)

Our family's journey with plagiocephaly

Almost 4 Weeks in the Helmet

on April 16, 2012

Emily is about 7 1/2 months old and will have been in her helmet four weeks on Wednesday, and I am very pleased with the way her head is looking.  From the top, there is probably minimal asymmetry.  Her head is looking nice and round.  There are still some bumps and flat spots on the bottom right side of her head, but hopefully that will get better over time too.

In physical therapy, Emily is doing great.  We are working on getting her into a crawling position at this point, and when I try to prompt her to do it by tugging under her shoulders a little bit, she giggles because it tickles her underarms.  She is pivoting and rolling all over the ground and sits up really well on her own.  She is also starting to reach more and right herself after reaching for something. She also loves to jump, either with us holding her or in a jumparoo, and we are helping her stand a little while leaning on something.

Here are some pictures of the girls from Easter.

4 responses to “Almost 4 Weeks in the Helmet

  1. Bridget says:

    Your girls are adorable! I’m glad you’re seeing some improvements so soon!

  2. Nicole says:

    I am so glad I found your blog! My daughter is 6.5 months old. She has torticollis and physical therapy is on May 10th. The ped finally listened to me at her 6 month appt when I told him she had it (my nephew was born with torticollis so when I noticed my 2nd child doing the same things at 1 wk as my nephew did I started on the therapy my sister was taught, so that could be why the ped didn’t take me seriously, the exercises did SO much to improve it but at each milestone I have to redouble my efforts and THIS time he could see a head tilt. I also did AGRESSIVE head repositioning from what I learned on the web to the point where I pretty much did not sleep the first five months so she doesn’t have any flat spots that you can see just by looking but there is more of a curve out on the lower left than right but the doc just said he wouldn’t be able to tell she has a right tort so keep doing what I was doing. Sigh.. I’m very excited about the pt he prescribed because maybe now I can rest)

    ANYWAY I was a lil freaked out about the thought that she might need a helmet (her face is less symmetrical than it was, I’ll spare ya THOSE details lol) but seeing your beautiful daughters and reading your posts I may just rest earlier than I thought! (mentally at least) thank you for your blog! It has also made me grateful that we don’t have a car currently! (so no long car seat stays lol! Thank you for helping me be grateful for that as well! ;)) can’t wait to read more!

    -Nicole

    • myhelmetbabysquared says:

      Glad I could help! 🙂 It was so frustrating to know about the condition and not be able to prevent it. With a toddler, there was just no way I could keep her off of her head all of the time. I have heard of other parents who got no sleep trying to reposition, and I know we woke often to do it with my first daughter. Luckily, I had Emily side sleeping at a very early age, so I didn’t have to reposition her quite as much (she just stayed on the other side more easily.) But it STILL didn’t round out on its own. What is frustrating is when I read articles that imply that moms with kids in helmets must have been lazy. HA! Maybe that is the case sometimes, but certainly not in others. I’ll post such an article today. Very frustrating! Good luck with your little girl!!!

  3. Nicole says:

    Thank you! 🙂 I think you are doing an amazing job! And people who judge so quickly just haven’t gone through what you have. I think we go through things at times to gain compassion for others when they will need it 😉

Leave a Reply

