My Helmet Baby (Squared)

Our family's journey with plagiocephaly

Controversial article about plagiocephaly

on April 23, 2012

This article is one reason it is difficult for parents to go through this experience.  Thanks for making us all feel worse!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2128383/Are-baby-bouncers-car-seats-blame-rise-Flat-Head-Syndrome.html

As I’ve mentioned in my previous blogs, I did a lot to keep my children off their heads and I carried both of them a lot.  However, once the condition starts, it is difficult to keep it from progressing.  I used my bouncy seat more with Samantha than with Emily, but in no way did I use it for hours on end.  Our baby swing was barely used by either child.  I often carried my children in my left arm so that I could use my right arm to do things, and sometimes I wonder if that contributed to their head flattening.  I don’t think someone could call me lazy for carrying my children around while I did other things.

I really wish more articles would discuss torticollis and its contribution to plagiocephaly.  Emily was diagnosed with it months after I had already recognized the issue and had done tons of tummy time and stretching.  Samantha had been turning her head only to the right for a long time before we ever did any serious exercises (other than stretching), and now, I believe she should have had physical therapy.  Luckily, as far as I know, she didn’t have any long-term effects from it.  After watching a physical therapist work with Emily, there is NO WAY that a non-physical-therapist parent would know to do certain exercises and recognize certain behaviors.  I think that Emily is pretty strong, but at the same time, I do still see that head tilt when she is tired in her car seat (with her helmet on.)

2 responses to “Controversial article about plagiocephaly

  1. Lynn S says:

    Thank you for posting a link to that article! As a fellow mom of a baby with plagiocephaly, brachycephaly, and torticollis, that article is pretty offensive and infuriating! In our case, my son literally would not sleep anywhere but in our arms or in the car seat for the first 5 weeks. I had to choose between having him awake 24 hours a day (he would keep himself awake) or letting him (and us) get some sleep. Interestingly when I look at photos of him his head is still round at that age and didn’t start to flatten until he started sleeping in the crib, on his side or on his back as recommended. He was a very high needs baby and was in my arms almost constantly when awake for the first 6 weeks. The torticollis is to blame, not “lazy parenting”. Some people are so judgemental! Your girls are beautiful and soon enough our babies will have beautiful round heads!

  2. That article is obnoxious. As another Plagio mom, I agree with Lynn. It boils my blood to know some people think these issues are caused by “lazy parenting”.

Leave a Reply

