My Helmet Baby (Squared)

Our family's journey with plagiocephaly

Last Day in Helmet!

on June 22, 2012

Tomorrow is Emily’s last day in her helmet.  When we take it off to clean it tomorrow night, we ARE NOT PUTTING IT BACK ON!!  Woo hoo!  Emily’s final scan and appointment at our Children’s Hospital will be next Wednesday.  Hopefully I can get some before and after pictures from the scan to post here.  Otherwise, I will try to create some myself.  Her head looks really great.  I am happy we decided to do the helmet, because I think I would have always wondered if it would have looked “better” if I hadn’t done it.  I didn’t want to regret not doing it.  It isn’t the easiest thing to go through, but as I thought when we did this with Samantha, there are far more difficult things we COULD have gone through.

Emily will be 10 months old in 2 days.  She started crawling a few weeks ago, and this week, she has started to pick up speed!  We are still seeing her physical therapist, who is encouraging Emily to pull herself up and even climb the stairs, but Emily has only pulled up a handful of times.  She really loves to explore now that she can move around herself!  Her newfound independence is SO cute!

Stay tuned for pictures from Emily’s last day!

Leave a Reply

